menu

Joint Research Management Office

Performing research menu

Research Support Unit

The RSU is a dedicated support service established to help researchers with their sponsorship, ethics and other regulatory applications and approvals. It is a voluntary service offered to those who need help navigating the system and is not compulsory to the approval process. Our aim is to help you submit timely and high quality applications.

Please note the RSU does not issue approvals (sponsorship or site). Receiving RSU help is not a substitute for site approval or sponsorship but is available as pre-application support for those who choose to use the service.

RSU services:

  • advice on applications for sponsorship, ethics (REC) and other regulatory bodies
  • advice on which approvals are required
  • advice on study type and definitions of research
  • IRAS form assistance
  • guidance on application documents
  • guidance on the order of applications and navigating the approvals system
  • guidance on internal approvals

QMUL Ethics of Research Committee

For further information about the QMERC, including the application and approvals process, please click here.

RSU team

RSU generic email account: research.support@bartshealth.nhs.uk 

Katherine Ouseley, Research Support Unit Manager (Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays)
Email: katherine.ouseley@bartshealth.nhs.uk or k.ouseley@qmul.ac.uk 
Tel: 020 7882 5998 

Hazel Covill, Queen Mary Research Ethics Facilitator (Mondays to Thursdays)
Email: h.covill@qmul.ac.uk
Tel: Mondays and Wednesdays (Mile End) 020 7882 7915; Tuesdays and Thursdays (Whitechapel) 020 7882 6947

Jack Biddle, Research Approvals Advisor
Email: jack.biddle@bartshealth.nhs.uk or j.biddle@qmul.ac.uk
Tel: 020 7882 8982

Patrycja Pysz, Research Approvals Advisor
Email: patrycja.pysz@bartshealth.nhs.uk
Tel: 020 7882 8982

Return to top